Agnes Stewart School

Goldthorpe Cup Winners 1992-93

Agnes Stewart 28 - 26 Woodkirk

Within ten minutes Woodkirk had established an 8-0 lead, but Agnes Stewart fought back through Dale Cardoza whose two tries, both converted by Anderson, saw Agnes Stewart hold on to a 12-8 half-time lead.

The second half opened with further scores for Agnes Stewart to add ten points to their lead before Woodkirk reduced the arrears. Agnes Stewart seemed to have ensured victory when Pickering crossed for the try that put his side 12 points clear. Woodkirk had other ideas and fought back in the final stages to provide a nail-biting finish. Two quick tries, the first converted, left Woodkirk two points behind with a conversion to come. However, the kick struck the woodwork and seconds later the final whistle sounded.

For the winners, Delroy Powell was an inspirational captain whilst Chris Cawood turned in a man of the match performance. Both were ably supported by Adam Moore, Russell Anderson and Lee Waterston.

Thanks to Stephen Boothroyd for this match report that was first published in the Yorkshire Evening Post.