John Smeaton School

Goldthorpe Cup Winners 2011-12

John Smeaton 20 Rodillian 16

Rodillian started the game well, putting early pressure on John Smeaton. After some heroic defensive work, Smeaton hit back with tries from Adam Vickers and Jordan Taylor. Rodillian scored a try of their own, but Smeaton led 12-4 at half-time. Rodillian came out the stronger side in the second half scoring two converted tries, with a Macauley Brierly try being the only response as the scores were tied at 12-12. The deciding score was an exciting individual try by Kieran Henry, who ran over 50 metres to touch down. Despite this moment of individual skill, it was without doubt an impressive team display which led to John Smeaton's victory, with man of the match being Jordan Taylor and other outstanding performances coming from Will Silkstone and Daniel Magieria.

Thanks to Stephen Boothroyd for providing this report that was written by Andy Bennett.