Albert Goldthorpe Medal

One of the greatest players in the early history of the game is celebrated with an award named in his honour by "Rugby League Express"

The medal was instigated in 2008 and Express editor Martyn Sadler named the award the "Albert Goldthorpe Medal". It is awarded to the "best and fairest" player in Super League at the end of the regular season, following votes cast by League Express match reporters throughout the season. Additionally a further award named the "Albert Goldthorpe Rookie of the Year Medal" was introduced at the same time.

The Albert Goldthorpe Medal is solid gold and the Rookie Medal is solid silver. Both medals incorporate the iconic photograph of Albert himself with All Four Cups.

The Goldthorpe family are delighted that the tremendous achievements of Albert, and indeed the other players of that era, are being formally recognised with an annual award and believe that Albert would be proud and honoured to think that his achievements are remembered within the modern day Super League community.

Roll of Honour


Albert Goldthorpe Medal

Albert Goldthorpe Rookie

Lifetime Achievement

2023 George Willians (joint with) Bevan French
2022 Brodie Croft
2021 Not awarded due to covid
2020 Not awarded due to covid
2019 Jonny Lomax Morgan Smithies
2018 Stefan Ratchford Jake Trueman
2017 Luke Gale Liam Marshall
2016 Luke Gale Max Jowitt
2015 Luke Gale Andre Savelio Not Awarded
2014 Danny Brough Joe Burgess Not awarded
2013 Danny Brough Tom Lineham Harry Jepson
2012 Scott Dureau John Bateman David Oxley
2011 Rangi Chase Jermaine McGillvary Mike Stephenson
2010 Pat Richards (joint with) Sam Tompkins Liam Watts Malcolm Alker
2009 Michael Dobson Sam Tompkins Ray French
2008 Danny Brough Luke Burgess Francis Maloney

Luke Gale receives the 2015 award from Martyn Sadler

Danny Brough 2013 and 2014 winner with the award

Scott Dureau receives the 2012 award from Martyn Sadler

Rangi Chase receives the 2011 award from Martyn Sadler

Sam Tompkins & Pat Richards receive the 2011 award from Alex Murphy

Michael Dobson, Ray French & Sam Tompkins 2009 winners

Francis Maloney, Danny Brough & Luke Burgess 2008 winners