Allerton Grange

Goldthorpe Cup Winners 2022-23

Allerton Grange 32 Cockburn 18

A frozen pitch at the John Charles Centre for Sport in January caused this final to be delayed until March 20th. It was a mild and pleasant evening which saw Allerton Grange looking to win the trophy for the first time and Cockburn seeking their first win since 1906.

Cockburn opened the scoring early on with a try in the corner and soon increased the lead with a converted try. Allerton Grange slowly clawed their way back into the game and a converted try under the posts on the stroke of half time saw them take a 16-10 lead into the break.

The second half followed a similiar patten, Cockburn scored twice to lead 18 - 16 but the North Leeds side were not to be beaten. They scored three times and with two successful conversions ran out winners 32-18. The player of the match was Billy Naylor from the winning team.

On presentation duties this year were ex players Peter Jarvis and Neil Lean, current Rhinos player Max Simpson and Goldthorpe family member Stephen McGrail.

Allerton Grange School Team

Team Sheet