Corpus Christi Catholic College

Goldthorpe Cup Winners 2018-19

Corpus Christi 22 Brigshaw High School 4

The John Charles Centre for Sport in South Leeds was the venue for the 2018 final. Heavy rain had fallen for a number of hours but that abated just prior to kick off. The pitch remained in good condition. A midfield break saw Corpus Christi take a six point lead with a try under the posts. Brigshaw soon hit back when a strong run wide out led to a touch down in the corner. Before the break Corpus Christi nudged further ahead with their second try which saw them hold a 10 - 4 lead at the break.

Midway through the second half another converted try extended the lead. Brigshaw although behind on the scoreboard were still in contention until the game was finally settled inside the last ten minutes when a further six pointer gave Corpus Christi a 22 - 4 win.

It was an entertaining game in which Corpus Christi just held the upper hand but Brigshaw were still in the game until the final try.

After the game the player of the match Joe Gitari Ritho was presented with the Ken Eyre Trophy by Phil Holmes and Neal Lean representing the Leeds players association. Leeds Rhinos player Jack Ormondroyd presented the medals and Albert Goldthorpe's great grandson Stephen McGrail presented the cup.

Corpus Christi Catholic College Team

Team Sheet