Rodillian School

Goldthorpe Cup Winners 2007-08

Rodillian 30 - 16 Temple Moor

This years final was played on Monday April 28th at the Archie Gordon Ground.

Last seasons cup winners, Temple Moor, met Rodillian School in this seasons final, and they began as though they meant to keep hold of the trophy. Strong running from the big Moor pack allowed Dale Potter to cross for an early try. The Rodillian boys soon got back into the game; the speed of their backs creating a try for Jay Cunningham, which he also converted. The large crowd was entertained by good rugby from both sides, but it was Temple Moor who sneaked back into the lead just before half time, with a try and conversion by Connor Reith.

Rodillian began the second half really strongly, and tries from Warren Moore and James Law, plus a goal by Cunningham, shot them into a 16-10 lead. The Temple Moor boys were not going to accept defeat easily and Josh Keedys try and a further Cunningham goal brought the scores level. Both sides then produced excellent play, until Temple Moor tired in the final 10 minutes when Rodillian crossed for three tries, scored by Liam Braithwaite and Sam Littlewood (2). The final score of Rodillian 30 Temple Moor 16 was a little harsh on the losers, who played their full part in a skilful and exciting final.

Rodillian School Team

Thanks to Peter Todd for this report and Photo.